Candida Cure – My Progress so far

I started my candida cleanse on August 31st, 2015. Some friends have asked how it’s going, so I thought I’d post a mid-way through update. 55 more days to go!

I have been taking a ton of supplements to help heal my inflammation that accompanies a systemic candida overgrowth. Supplements include: digestive enzymes, hydrochloric acid (stomach acid), an antifungal, vitamin E, probiotics, molybdenum, a blood sugar/adrenal support, vitamin C, and gallbladder support. The supplements switch at this mid-way point, so I’ll be swapping some of these for others.

I have also been avoiding all refined sugar, alcohol, most grains, nightshades, legumes, most fruits, starchy/sweet veggies, red meat, shellfish, processed meats, dairy, and fermented foods of all kinds. I’m not going to lie, I am getting bored. SO. BORED. I can deal with a very restricted diet, but this is nuts. I could not live like this forever.

I was feeling pretty great that I was about one-third of the way through, when my husband asked how much longer I had. I told him “day 30 or so” and he was crushed. He thought I was so much closer to completing it than I am. 😦 He would like to be able to enjoy some “cheat meals” with him.

How am I feeling? I feel fine. My digestion feels significantly improved. I am much less gassy, my stool is more well formed, and I haven’t had much GERD, bloating, or stomach pain. I have not yet lost much weight (about 3 pounds, depending on the day). Considering that I’m eating “cleaner” than pretty much the entire world, I’m disappointed. But, I haven’t been very active. And I think I’ve been eating too much fruit. I’m allowed berries, grapefruit, and green apples. But there are some days that I have had 3 servings of fruit. (Sigh.) I was listening to the the second Balanced Bites podcast today and they were talking about one of the biggest paleo pitfalls is leaning way to heavily on fruits. After all, sugar is sugar.  It’s like they were talking to me. So, that’s another big thing that I’m going to change. 1-1.5 servings per day. Must make the change.

My other concern is my upcoming surgery this week. I will have the second part of my reconstruction for my mastectomy on Wednesday. They are going to give my antibiotics. 😦 And I hope to be able to eat normally in the hospital afterwards. I’m going to do my best and not let it ruin my progress so far.

I’ll update again as I make more progress!

Health & Hugs <3,

Katie

Countdown!

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT a Registered Dietician or Medical Doctor. As such, I do NOT provide medical nutrition services, or diagnose and treat disease. Rather, I educate people on the benefits of a healthy lifestyle to improve their quality of life. I advise people with existing medical problems to consult with medical doctors. I shared evidence-based health information, whether to class participants, wellness counseling client sessions, or on this website.

Leave a Reply

